Style

Why Ballet Pumps Are The Perfect Summer Shoe

 I’ve been looking for an alternative to a sandal, smart enough to wear to work, that goes with everything and works with bare legs, too.

audrey hepburn ballet flats

So, it just had to be a pair of ballet flats.

I fell out of love with them in the late noughties when they became a bit too ubiquitous, but they’re back on the fashion map thanks to Pheobe Philo’s SS15 collection for Celine.

Celine SS15 ballet flats

I’m loving all the lace up heels I’m seeing in the shops, but something has stopped me buying – they just look a little too much like hard work and I just know those straps are going to rub. Let’s be realistic about an English summer too, wearing open toes in a torrential downpour is no joke, so something a bit more covered up feels a bit safer and a ballet pump is still light and non-clumpy enough to feel summery (and no numb toes either).

My favourites are from French Sole, yep they’re pricier than the average high street pair, but the insole is softly padded so it feels like you’re walking on air and worth every penny.

I'd love to hear your thoughts..